The Bracelet that was Almost a Necklace…


chain maille,incan puno,silver coated,aluminum,silver plated
The Bracelet that almost wasn't.

There it is… The Chain Maille Bracelet.  Why did I call this post what I did?  Let me elaborate.  When I first started making the jump rings for the piece, I had all intentions of making a necklace, and adding another type of chain maille weave to the center of the piece to embellish it with beads. The image in my head is one of a truly stunning piece of art, but not one that you would look at and wonder where in the world you would wear it.  I make functional pieces.

chain maille,incan puno,silver coated,aluminum,silver plated
The begining of the piece.

Let be add that I am working two part-time jobs at the same that I am starting this business.  A lot to for one person to undertake, I know.  It takes money to make it they say, and without a job -or two- there is no money in the bank.

It is a Wednesday, and I have been smoothing the rough edges to my jumps in the gas station that I work at from noon to 8.  (The owners allow me to work on my hobbies and my business after I finish the cleaning and other things that I have to do first.)  Enter Mitch, a friend of mine that I met while working at O’Charley’s a while back.  I showed him the chain and told him that it was going to be a necklace when I was finished.  He asked if he could see it.  He draped it over his wrist and said he liked it as a bracelet.  He then asked how much it would be it I made it into a bracelet.  I told him.  He said that he would buy it. As he walked out, I thought I guess it’s a bracelet.

I can recreate the piece.  The original is silver colored aluminum.  The price list to be added later.

2 thoughts on “The Bracelet that was Almost a Necklace…

Leave a Reply

