Soap Diaries… Homemade Shampoo


…or how to quit buying conditioner.

Bottle of Homemade Shampoo
Bottle of Homemade Shampoo

I know it’s not pretty, but it does the job.  How did I do it?

olive oil coconut soap
Olive oil Coconut Soap

This is soap I made myself.  It has olive oil, coconut oil, and castor oil in it.  I also put rosemary essential oil and a couple others.

After they had cooled and set, I shredded four ounces of it into a blender, added 1/4 of oil, and mint tea.

The oil I added to the shreds contained apricot kernel oil, jojoba oil, and soy lecithin.  All are known for conditioning the hair and high in protein.  I admit, when I made the first batch of this soap, I used the oil mix and the Lemon Verbena Soap.  I was skeptical.  I grew up using store bought shampoos and conditioners, who didn’t?

At first, I had to get used to the fact that it didn’t lather up as much as store bought, but it did the trick.  Before I stepped out of the shower, (and here is the trick) I mixed 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar with 2 cups of water and poured it on my hair.  When it dried there was no trace of the vinegar, and my hair wasn’t tangled, not one bit.  It wasn’t even frizzed (and my hair is infamous for frizzing).  I fell in love with a shampoo method that will make me stop going to the store.

Need a little more information?  A friend of mine gave the link to get me started.

How to Make Shampoo

2 thoughts on “Soap Diaries… Homemade Shampoo

Leave a Reply

