Diary of a Special Order… Part 2


The journey continues…

It is now Sunday Feb. 13, 2011, and it is 7 a.m.  I am getting ready for my eight hour shift at the gas station.  I pack everything I think I am going to need to toy around with the idea that has finally taken shape in my brain.  I am determined to upload something for her approval by the end of the day.  I arrive on the scene at 9 a.m. (Yes, it takes me two hours to get going in the morning.) I set out all the jewelry I have made with me. (I work for a wonderful Korean family that owns that store.  I know no where else would let me set-up my stuff, let alone work on my craft at their place of business.)  Having set out the finished items, I start to dig through want I brought to get started on the first earring.  I realize quickly that I forgot to pack the carnelian and pearls.

Oh, crap.  Oh, crap.  What I am going to do do now?

I take a deep breath, and start looking for alternative materials.  At least I can make a sample work-up.  I find the glass chips and Swarovski crystals.  (Never loose sight of the fact that I am doing all of this in between customers.)  I pull out the wire and get to work.  People are coming in and out.  I sell a bracelet.  (YAY.  A sale!)  I go back to the earring.  The regular customers, the ones who are used to seeing me do all sorts of things craft-like are asking me what I am up to.  I get some compliments.  This is encouraging.  By the time my husband comes to get me at 5 p.m., I have something to show my customer.

Her reaction?

next convo with my replies...
The long and the short of the next few messages…

So, I got to work.  I used wire that I knew I had a lot of to do the work-ups.  I didn’t’ want to run out of material before I was finished.  I twisted, and twisted, and added some more.

Monday, Feb. 14, 2011…  Yep, Valentine’s Day

I get up , do my usual morning routine, and check to see if she has responded.  I got a little more feedback, and a little more direction.

etsy message...
Feedback with a little more to go on…

She included a couple more links…

wire-wrapped earrings
Sorry, I couldn’t find the original picture.

This is going to be a little more involved than I thought it would be. *sigh*  So I took out my materials and started toying around with wrapping wire around wire.

wire-wrapped citrine
I wrapped this around a silver plated hoop to give me a little wiggle room.

The reaction?

A little back and forth for clarification...
A little back and forth for clarification…

Another reference picture…

Wire wrapped
This is what she wanted…

This is what she got…

Citrine Quartz Wire Wrapped
Citrine Quartz… Not bad huh?

I posted this on flickr and nervously awaited her response.

YAY She likes it!!!

And then there were two…

Better Together…

Now on to the next project…

Leave a Reply

