Of Chains and Flowers…


I laid it out after I finished one of the strands.

 …  the journey of a piece in the making.

It wasn’t until I was a quarter of the way through the piece when I realized that I hadn’t started taking pictures.  I laid out the beads first in order to get a feel for what I was doing.  I was putting this piece together at the gas station where I worked.  I wanted to string it at first, but then I realized that I didn’t have enough crimp beads, and I had forgotten to pack extras.  Oh, well, after a choice word or two, I had to improvise.   It wasn’t like it was the first time I had to do that.

Time for a swirl or two...

I turned wire into jump rings to link most of the first strand together.  I deliberated for a moment or two before I added swirls to the piece.   So I added them at every other space and worked on the other leg of the first strand.


Now to add some byzantine flair. Small, aren't they?

I played with the jump rings for a few minutes when I realized that they were the perfect size to make a chainmaille addition to the wire jewelry.  Unfortunately, the finishing of the piece was going to have to wait until the next time.  I had forgotten my glasses, and after a few of these, I started to get a headache from the eye strain.  You would think that I would learn by now.


Pretty blue, isn't it?

I bought this pendant at a Michael’s (a craft store).  It had been sitting in storage for a while.  It wasn’t until I took a look at the piece when I thought that the pendant would be quite at home as the main centerpiece.


Barrels and Byzantines...

What better way to link two strands together in the front than a few barrel chainmaille weaves and a modified byzantine weave as well.  I had to adjust the strands so that they would lay flat when worn.  That proved to be the tricky part of the whole piece.


Chains and Flowers $32.25

Etsy Link

Flickr Link

Leave a Reply

