Here we go…


Well, here it is almost February, and I am putting together a class schedule for jewelry making. I am finally doing it. Mainly because the consignment shop where I have my jewelry displayed has a space that he is most graciously letting me use. The other reason is that some of my convenience store customers have asked if I was going to teach some classes.

So, now, I am sitting at my place of work, putting the schedule together. Some would think that it is just a matter of simply putting what is going to be taught on what day of the calendar, right?

Nope…

There are a lot of things that go into heading a class of this type, privately, of course. I wouldn’t know how the big box stores do it.

First, asses your comfort level. How many people you are comfortable teaching? Six is ideal for a cozy setting and all you need really, unless you’re highly technical and have a projector for your smart phone. If that’s the case, knock yourself out. An intimate setting, like a dining room or small workshop in the back of a store is perfect.

Second, there is the inventory to consider. If you want to set it up so that you furnish the items they are going to need, you have to factor in your inventory costs, per item, and then work in a little profit to recoup the shipping and inventory. I usually divide the number of the item by the cost and then multiply it by how much they are going to need, adding in the individual shipping as part of the overhead. I also include a little surcharge for my time and effort. Generally, you want to charge enough so that a minimum of four people will recuperate your costs.

Keep it simple at first.
Start with the basics to catch the interest of those who are curious. I am starting out with cleaning and simple repair before I teach how to string beads together. This will give them the confidence to try the harder classes later on down the road.

Above all, make it fun.
Really engage the students, be loose and flexible in the class setting. If you are comfortable, then they will be as well.

2 thoughts on “Here we go…

    1. There are times when the business doesn’t afford me any time for the creativity. I am still working out the kinks. Thank you for the well wishes. I wish you all the success in the world.

      Like

Leave a Reply

