The Prodigal Son Returns…


 

 

 

My son, Paul.

…at least for a little while.  You see, his friends ousted him over the weekend while he was spending it with us.  He didn’t have a clue what had happened until he called them to ask if they could come and get him.  Now, he feels as if his two closest friends aren’t truly his friends.  

Maybe, as a mother, I want to believe that he has changed for the better.  He is studying to get this GED, and he is looking for job opportunities.  He says that he wants to save up money to move to MN to be with his grandparents and friends up there who support him.  (I am referring more to his MN friends.)  I am willing to give him the benefit of the doubt that he is changing and look at his actions objectively and fairly.  All this, despite his past transgressions.  I guess that is the mother in me.

I am always willing to see the good in him, but I am not so blind as to not notice any bad in him.  We all have to potential to be either.  We all just have to choose our fate in that regard.  God has blessed me with a good heart to love and care for my son, and a good mind to see the good and the improvements that he still has yet to do, but I am willing to be patient and use gentility to guide him, now that he is twenty.  A cudgel will not work, though sometimes I wish I could reach inside his mind and pick out the lazy parts. *shrugs*  Such is life.  

It is amazing what God places in our path to either deal with or step away from, not to be bothered for one reason or another.  The wisdom we must have is to discern which is which.  I do have a friend that told me to cut all ties with my son, and have nothing to do with him, but I am not that kind of person.  I have let him back into my life, and I pray that he is on the right path this time.

Until next time, God Bless. 

 

8 thoughts on “The Prodigal Son Returns…

  1. Also praying for you both. Continue to listen to the voice of the Lord. Just read a blog that reminds us to “Trust Him with our whole hearts…. and He will direct our path.

    Like

Leave a Reply

