The Celtic Garden and Recycling Chain Pieces


This is the chain I used to make the piece.  I had scraps left over.
This is the chain I used to make the piece. I had scraps left over.

This is one part of a piece that sold around Christmas, 2011.  I used this chain to link bead units with lampwork beads that sported vibrant flowers, and knotwork findings.  This was a challenge that I set for myself.  I laid it out before I got work.  I needed to see what it was going to look like with the materials that I was going to use.  As is usual, I had one idea in my head, but the final incarnation was going to be slightly different from what I saw in my head. 

This is how I laid it out.  I don't usually use a bead board, but I needed to get it set up.
This is how I laid it out. I don’t usually use a bead board, but I needed to get it set up.

 Didn’t I tell you the colors on the beads were vibrant? I don’t go for flowery, but these jumped out at me, and I knew I was going to rise to a new challenge for myself. The findings reminded me of Celtic Knotwork, and they had to be a part of the piece along with the chain.

 I was going to use spacers between the beads, but something told me that would make the bead unit too long and throw off the piece as a whole. So, this is what I did. 

Another piece planned.
Another piece planned.

These were the spare beads the strands for the lampwork beads.  I put them in the piece.

A softer color to offset the bright ones.
A softer color to offset the bright ones.
Bead unit time, but wait!  What's that between the bead and rondelle?
Bead unit time, but wait! What’s that between the bead and rondelle?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Celtic Garden Necklace
Celtic Garden Necklace
Leave a Reply

