Clasps without Jumprings… A Tutorial


I like doing different things when it comes to making clasps for my jewelry.  One thing I hate, is to use jumprings only to have them eventually wear out or have to keep adjusting to close them.  This is what I do.

20 gauge gold plated wire
20 gauge gold plated wire

I cut two pieces of wire, about two inches each.

Making the Part with the clasp.
Making the Part with the clasp.

I take a pair of round nose pliers, and, placing the wire about 1/8 of an inch down, I let about 1/4 of the wire go through the pliers.  Then, I bend it like you see here.

Don't forget to put the lobster claw on before the next step.
Don’t forget to put the lobster claw on before the next step.

I put the lobster claw, or what I am going to use as the clasp on the first loop that I made.  holding the wire close to where the cross itself the first time, I loop behind the wire and in the opposite direction.

starting the wrap
Starting the wrap

I take the tail I just made and wrap it around, taking care to include the tail from the first loop.

Slant the wire as you wrap.
Slant the wire as you wrap.

I slant the wire so that it sits parallel to the loops.  After I finish the wrap, I cut off any excess.

One end down
One end down

For the other end, I use the bigger end of the round nose pliers for the first loop.

Where you should put the wire on the pliers.
Where you should put the wire on the pliers.
This is what it should look like before you wrap.
This is what it should look like before you wrap.

So, when I am done, both of the look like this:

You can do this with any clasp or toggle.
You can do this with any clasp or toggle.

I like to do it this way.  I know that the piece will stay closed, and not come open.  There is nothing I hate more than to put all my heart and soul into piece, and have the customer come back to me so that I can put on a new jumpring or a whole new closure.  It let’s me know they spent money on something that didn’t last.

Leave a Reply

