Slaying the Dragon…


…or finally getting on track with finishing a long awaited order.

“I love a challenge.”  That’s my motto. When it comes to creating jewelry, angels, or anything crafty, I love to challenge myself.  So, when a good friend showed me a picture of a dragon, and asked if I could make it, I said I would.  That was, a little over a year ago.

I started on it right away by trying to guess the weaves that she used.  With no tutorial (1.), I was flying by the seat of my pants.  I made the head using two strands of Persian weave and hooked them together by a couple of rings and added a little red to mark the top.  Then I continued with the Persian weaves, linking and hooking until I ran into the problem you see in the first picture.  How in the world do I make it smaller without making it look dumb?  So, the poor thing sat while I thought, and thought, and thought.  I went on to other things all the while trying to solve my problem.

Then, many months later, I posted, on this blog, my goals, the dragon being one of them, and low and behold, someone on Tumblr, rubylis, read and sent this tutorial my way: Chainmaille Dragon Keychain  Later on, I found this one, which made linking the strands a little easier on my eyes: Chainmaille Dragon Bracelet

I was on my way.  Now all I had to do was take the original design apart.  I didn’t touch the head.  I liked the way it came out.  I know.  I know.  I was probably being stubborn, but I wanted some part of it to say I did it.  So, steps 2-5 zipped along at a wonderful pace.  I was going to finish this, and then, it happened, step 6.  One of the strands was linked in the wrong direction.  GAH!  Undo, undo, undo, and re-link, re-link, re-link.

Step 7, the European 4-in-1 weave after the fact.  I thought it was going to be an even bigger headache then the Half-Persian.  It was a breeze, thank goodness.  All that is left is linking the head, putting on the scales and making the tail, legs and whiskers.

There will be another post.  Hang in there.  I wouldn’t show you an unfinished project. 🙂  I promise!

Until next time, God Bless, and be crafty!

Li’l Bit

Leave a Reply

