You’re Doing What?!?!?


Or How I am helping others and myself.

Those of you who are following me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Tumblr, or Instagram, may have

Hand made is made with love.
Hand made is made with love.

noticed an influx of links to other crafters of jewelry or crafts in general. This is not a sign of me losing my mind. Rather, it is a sign of me finally finding my niche in this ever-changing social landscape. I am still taking pictures of my jewelry and editing them to post on etsy, but I have decided to help other crafter’s out as well. Why? Hang in there. I have reasons.

  1. They don’t get enough credit. Big chain stores and mass manufacturers of all sorts of goods have deep pockets when it comes to getting their name out there. Crafters, alas, do not. We struggle amidst changing algorithms, small businesses with advertising budgets, and thousands of fans. We try our best to promote ourselves without seeming pushy, and sometimes, that means we fall through internet cracks.

  2. Crafters need love, too. When you buy from us, you are not supporting a major conglomerate. You are supporting a stay-at-home mom, a disabled person who is trying to make ends meet and save a little to make their lives a little more fulfilling. You’re paying for dance, piano, or tutoring for their children, and putting food on their table.

  3. Do you have the time to do it? Most people look at crafted items and think they can do it themselves, often saying it aloud, much to the dismay of the crafter who just got proverbially slapped in the face. To that, I ask you this, would you actually take the time to make it? Do you know what goes into it? Into the picking of wire, findings, the right colors? Are you going to take the time to turn the wire? Temper the metal? Stamp the metal? No? Then, please, quit saying you can do that.

  4. Made in America, Canada, England. Let’s face it. Most of the mass-manufactured stuff is assembled in Mexico, or flat out made in China, Hong Kong, Japan, Indonesia, Taiwan, I could go on, but you get the point. I am going to expand my “Made in” Series and include crafters from all over. It’s time we took back the market place. In my humble opinion. -Clears throat-

Am I afraid that I will drive my business to other outlets? I will admit there is a chance of that, but seeing how everyone, just like every crafter, has a different sense of what they like, I don’t think my little business will suffer too much. Besides, wouldn’t you be more apt to buy from a vendor who isn’t afraid to offer other options than one who will go to any means to attain your patronage to the point of being annoying? Just wondering.

Until next time, God Bless and stay crafty!

Li’l Bit

Leave a Reply

