Going Wire Wacky


…or how I stepped out of my comfort zone.

 

As someone who makes jewelry, I know the importance of trying new things. I love to push my own limits and accept orders that challenge my creativity. For the most part, all of my pieces have been simple to assemble. I’ve used different techniques, but I’ve stayed within my little box, my comfort zone, until recently.

 

I decided to make an insect, a dragonfly. I’ve seen plenty of them already assembled on the internet. I have even seen tutorials on how to make them, but I didn’t want to make a copy. I wanted to make my own version. You see, I have this thing about copying the work of others. I don’t like to do it unless I can’t figure any other way to do it, and then I will give credit to the person that made it first. I like being different, original. Making a wire dragonfly may not be original, but I wanted to make my own version of one.

 

dragonfly1So, here I am, looking at these pictures and wondering where to start. I didn’t think I could do it, scrutinizing picture after picture, trying to disassemble the thing in my mind while scratching my head and wondering how I was going to do this. I did what I normally do. I drew a sketch, and then made something completely different. *shrugs* What can I say? It happens, a lot.

 

I guessed at how long the thorax should be, and cut the wire for it. I picked three crystals and started to wrap them on the straight piece of wire like a woman possessed. The hardest part was the

dragonfly pendant
He’s ready for the necklace.

wings. Anyone that works with wire can tell you that trying to get any curve to be symmetrical is not easy. I took about seven tries, and some choice words while straightening the wire and trying again and again. It was worth it in the end. Now, I can say, “I did it.” Will I make another in the future? Yeah, I believe I will.

 

Have you stepped out of your comfort zone? What did you do?

 

Finished necklace
All done!

$26.75 On Etsy

Until next time, God Bless and stay crafty.

Anissa

Leave a Reply

