Wires, a Stone and Tape… Lots of Tape


…Or how a tangled mess is making something pretty neat.

blue agate
What am I doing with the purple stuff? Stay tuned!

I am never one to look at basic instructions and make a copy of what I see. I buy beading and wire magazines mainly to kick start my own ideas.  I don’t like making pieces from books or magazines.  I feel like I’m copying.

So, here I am, making another wire bracelet.  I’m using nothing but wire and the stone you see in the picture.  I had to start by figuring out how to wrap a stone into a setting.  Being a part of a jewelry making group, all I had to do was ask, and a link was given.

Yep.  See?  I can be taught! :)
Yep. See? I can be taught! 🙂

 

There was another problem.  I had to learn how to weave wire together.  This required another link and more instructions.  Once I had the general gist, I needed tape, lots of tape.  After all, I needed to hold the wires together, and I only have two hands.

I started working on the top.  I made a rough sketch, a very rough sketch.  It didn’t include how I was going to twist the wires.  I also had to work in the purple to bring out the secondary color of the stone.

wire weaving
In a “V” for the bottom.

Now, for the bottom.  I’m slowly figuring out how to weave .   I think I did a decent job.  I did it this way to shore up the bottom of the stone, because the bottom is slightly bigger.  I am flying by the seat of my pants on this one, but that’s nothing new.  I usually just make it up as I go along.  This could be why I can’t remember how I do things half of the time. *shrugs*

 

 

 

Here are the rest of the pictures, but not the rest of the story.  That’s later, when I finish the piece.  Keep reading!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Until Next time, God Bless and stay crafty!

Li’l Bit

Leave a Reply

