Alice Meets Zentangle… A Watercolor Adventure


Mad Hatter's Tea Party

When one first sets out on an adventure to make something out of their comfort zone, one tends to sit and ponder what that might be. So, I sat, and wondered what I could do. Many people absolutely love Alice in Wonderland and many more love the Mad Hatter and his tea party. It is an iconic part of the movies and book. I set about sketching his hat. Why his hat? Well…

IMG_20160621_1047269_rewind

Though my son would argue to the point of exhaustion, my people need a lot of work, and I draw things quite well. This fact, coupled with another, mainly the Hatter’s Hat being ever-so recognizable, practically made the decision for me. I shall draw his hat, place a phrase around it, decorate it with Zentangle, and use watercolors to complete the piece.

Then arose another snag…

 

f704a4fd-59dc-47b4-af29-5b8f7e91109eWhat quote do I use? What do I write that would fit perfectly with the scene I am trying to create? “We’re all Mad Here.” has been used a lot, and I didn’t want to go with the crowd. This meant picking one from the Hatter everyone could relate to without repeating a well-known phrase. Being me, I spent a lot of time searching for the quote.

“Everyone wants some magical solution for their problem, and everyone refuses to believe in magic.”

 

I think it fits for the time we are in. Think about it. We all some magic bullet, some all knowing, all fixing answer that will set world right, but we just can’t past ourselves to find it. What do you think?

 

Until next time, Stay Crafty, my friends.

Li’l Bit

Leave a Reply

